1
\$\begingroup\$

The Eldritch Knight fighter's Weapon Bond feature states (PHB page 74):

[...] If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. [...]

If you hit a creature with a Bonded weapon, would they teleport when you summoned the weapon?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Mar 11, 2022 at 23:09

2 Answers 2

9
\$\begingroup\$

Your weapon can't teleport anything else with it.

Rules elements like class features are specific about what they do. If it says the weapon teleports to your hand, then the weapon does that, not anything it's sitting on, near, or in. (There's a potentially interesting argument about whether the sword leaves behind anything that was spread on the blade, like say blood or rust.)

If the effect could bring a creature with it, then it would say so.

There are no hidden rules.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd say that rust would be a part of the blade, rather than something applied to it. \$\endgroup\$
    – nick012000
    Commented Mar 12, 2022 at 9:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ I didn't say I wanted to have that argument, especially in the comments. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 13, 2022 at 17:15
2
\$\begingroup\$

No, the creature would not be teleported with the weapon.

Spells only do what they say they do, and the same is true of class features; it would only teleport your weapon to your hand, not anyone holding it, using it, stabbed by it, etc.

Note that it does not say "the weapon teleports as if it used the spell teleport" or something similar, so we default to a normal interpretation of the sentence.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ The risk of a too repeated phrase methinks, but there is no spell involved so you may wish reword your opening \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Mar 11, 2022 at 23:04
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Notably, this is a class feature, not a spell \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 11, 2022 at 23:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .