The text for Retributive Stike says:

You protect your ally and strike your foe. The ally gains resistance to all damage against the triggering damage equal to 2 + your level. If the foe is within reach, make a melee Strike against it.

Does that mean that I have to spend one of my three actions for this melee strike or is it an extra strike?

And if I already made multiple attacks in this round do I get a Multiple Attack Penalty on this attack?


1 Answer 1


It costs your Reaction

Paladins get the Champion Reaction Retributive Strike. Reactions are a type of Action, but they do not cost your normal Action points, and they don't have to be used on your turn (although you only get 1 per round, plus any bonus Reactions from Feats, which "refresh" at the start of your turn when you gain Actions). More rules on using Reactions are found in the Encounter Mode rules and to a lesser extent under the Actions section (see Actions with Triggers).

You do not take your Multiple Attack Penalty on Retributive Strike attacks; MAP does not apply to any Reaction unless stated otherwise (such as with Readied Strikes)

The multiple attack penalty applies only during your turn, so you don’t have to keep track of it if you can perform an Attack of Opportunity or a similar reaction that lets you make a Strike on someone else’s turn.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Please note that, if you triggered the reaction on your turn, you would actually apply your current MAP. \$\endgroup\$
    – Patta
    Commented Mar 23, 2022 at 5:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Technically that might be correct for this Reaction; however, I consider it clear that the intent (see Attack of Opportunity's reminder and the vagueness of the quoted rule in this answer) is MAP should never apply to Strikes as part of Reactions. It's worth asking your GM, at any rate. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 23, 2022 at 6:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .