10
\$\begingroup\$

In the adventure Dragon's Delve Level 7: Sprawl of the Demon Liege, Room 185, the characters can gain a Magical Candlestick that has the power of true restoration (CL 16), which can be activated once.

I am not sure if this should be, say, the 9th level cleric spell True Resurrection, 7th level Restoration Greater, 4th level Restoration or may be another spell I am unaware of.

The adventure is not specially a party-level adventure as the design is meant for a group that comes and gos over the campaign, but does have EL of between 5 and 13.

Which spell is likely the correct one for this item?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does the adventure list the cost of the item? I know at least Pathfinder has a formula for the price of items that replicate spells. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 23, 2022 at 20:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ nope as the items are unsellable. \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Mar 23, 2022 at 20:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Further, this power is only usable by the character that takes them out of the room, so they have no resale value." \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Mar 23, 2022 at 20:39
  • \$\begingroup\$ I guess True Resurrection is out as you can't cast a 9th level spell at Caster Level 16 (but magic Item CL doesn't have to be be the same as creator's level) \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Mar 24, 2022 at 8:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Unless Errata exists, I don't think that this question can be definitively answered; any answer would be almost exclusively conjecture. \$\endgroup\$
    – Chemus
    Mar 26, 2022 at 8:34

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

My feeling is that the author just got the names messed up, and was aiming for Greater Restoration.

True Resurrection seems too powerful and as has been outlined already needs to be at least CL 17th.

The standard Restoration would probably just be termed Restoration in the text, without the need to add a 'True' in there.

Disclaimer: I am in this adventure

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is a reasonable circumstantial argument, but “True Resurrection […] needs to be at least CL 17th” is… a problematic statement. The magic item creation rules specify that a magic item must have at least the minimum caster level for a spell it casts, only… the spellcasting rules never define any minimum caster level. From examples, the minimum caster level used is the “default” for when you get that level of spells, but that’s a lot of extrapolation. And, well, if a 17th-level cleric took a −1 penalty to caster level, that should not stop them from casting true resurrection. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Mar 28, 2022 at 15:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I would say that using this standard for caster level, while not hard enforced by the rules, is sufficiently consistent that it's worth using as a basis for extrapolation. I admit "needs" might not be the right word, but something along the lines of "would/should have been" is more than warranted. \$\endgroup\$
    – Gloweye
    Mar 29, 2022 at 8:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .