2
\$\begingroup\$

Im making an NPC spellcaster that will kind of center around Bigby's hand and telekinesis spells, and I was wondering if you could use Bigby's hand to fly. Could you grapple yourself for a quick getaway and just fly? I know this isnt particularly efficient when the fly spell exists but i think its pretty cool. Anything RAW stopping this?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Does this answer your question: "Can Bigby's Hand move creatures that are Grappled into the air?" \$\endgroup\$ Mar 24 at 17:03
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be splitting hairs but I'm not sure the linked answer is a full duplicate. This questions has two components - can the caster target themselves with Bigby's Hand, and can Bigby's Hand be used to fly a grappled creature around. The linked question answers the flying part thoroughly, but does not confirm that the Grasping Hand ability can self target. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 24 at 18:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @IronWilliam I see what you're saying there; however, I'm not sure there's anything about Bigby's hand that points to it not being able to grapple the caster. If there's something about the spell that makes that case different from any other grapple, I could see these being separate \$\endgroup\$ Mar 24 at 18:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well, the Interposing Hand option wouldn't make much sense targeting the caster. And as you mentioned below, there's some non-obvious nuance to self targeting when the question ask for RAW and pointing out that you need to fail your own grapple check is relevant to this use of the spell. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 24 at 18:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Exempt-Medic I’m voting to reopen. Bigby’s Hand’s uses aren’t limited to the special grappling/interposing/fist/forceful rules listed in the spell; it can also do ordinary hand-things (lifting, manipulating), which is why it has Strength and Dexterity scores. This question can be answered without reference to grappling. \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Mar 25 at 6:28

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The Grasping Hand section of Bigby's Hand reads. "The hand attempts to grapple a Huge or smaller creature within 5 feet of it." If the caster is a creature within 5 feet of the hand, nothing prevents them from grappling themselves with it. Then, as answered in "Can Bigby's Hand move creatures that are Grappled into the air?", you can fly yourself around. Just don't use the crushing action!

There is one catch, if you are dealing strictly with RAW. As answered in Is it possible to fail an ability check on purpose?, there is no RAW way to simply accept a grapple. This would be an unusually strict reading of the rules, but it's worth keeping in mind.

\$\endgroup\$
15
  • \$\begingroup\$ Let us continue this discussion in chat. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 24 at 19:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ I asked this specific question here. By RAW, the player has roll the dice. \$\endgroup\$
    – MivaScott
    Mar 24 at 23:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd also recommend adding/moving(?) your answer to the dupe target to let it compete against the others. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Mar 24 at 23:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ Remember that Bigby’s Hand can just pick things up, including the caster; it’s Large and has a Strength of 26. You don’t need to use the grapple rules. \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Mar 25 at 6:22
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ By very strict RAW, I'm not so sure it can 'just pick things up'. It has a Strength that is uses for three of the four listed abilities, but it doesn't have text like Mage Hand where it suggests general use. The closest is saying that "it moves at your command, mimicking the movements of your own hand." but it doesn't give any sort of action requirement to use the hand for other purposes, only a bonus action to perform one of the listed uses. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 25 at 6:30

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .