6
\$\begingroup\$

Is it possible to cast wrathful smite then on the next turn use Divine Smite and thunderous smite stacking with the effects of wrathful smite on the first attack?

If not, can I instead cast wrathful smite the turn before and let it trigger the next round on the first extra attack, then thunderous smite on the bonus action for the 2nd extra attack?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to rpg.se. Please take the tour. What edition of what game are you playing? \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    Mar 25 at 5:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ We’ve added the [dnd-5e] tag, since wrathful/thunderous smite are D&D 5e spells. Is this correct? \$\endgroup\$ Mar 25 at 8:35
  • 1
  • \$\begingroup\$ By "update question", do you mean that that is what you mean by your question as initially phrased? Or are you editing in a second question that is separate from your first question? – I initially interpreted it as the latter (though you generally shouldn't edit in new questions after your initial question has already been answered)... But after reading the comments on Dragonfang's answer, it seems like it might be an attempt to clarify your existing question instead – is that correct? \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Mar 25 at 22:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ If it is an attempt to clarify the existing question, rather than you asking a new question, you should simply edit your post (i.e. the existing body text, as well as the title) to read as if it were always the best version of itself. (Don't signal your edits in text; anyone interested in older versions of the post can view the revision history.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Mar 25 at 22:19

1 Answer 1

22
\$\begingroup\$

You can't use all three on the same attack

Wrathful smite and Thunderous smite are both concentration, and both trigger "the first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration", so you have to expend one before using the other.

Divine smite has no such restriction, though, and can be combined with either one.

...But yes, if you split the "stack" between two attacks

If you can make more than one attack per action, as with the "extra attack" feature, you can, for example:

  1. Cast Wrathful smite smite as a bonus action
  2. Wait until a later turn within the next minute
  3. Take the Attack action
  4. Make (and hit with) your first attack, triggering the effect of Wrathful smite
  5. Use Divine smite
  6. Stop concentrating on the (now depleted) Wrathful smite and cast Thunderous smite as a bonus action
  7. Make (and hit with) your second attack, triggering the effect of Thunderous smite
  8. (Optionally) Use Divine smite again.

Allowing you to apply the effects of all three in a single turn.

Thanks to @Exempt-Medic for supplying the RAW evidence for bonus actions definitely being allowed in between attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Nice answer, good job for listing the interaction with divine smite and the bonus action problems, very comprehensive 👍 \$\endgroup\$
    – user73918
    Mar 25 at 7:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ OP might be playing Houses and Households, where paladins smite ability is defined as smacking a gavel on a piece of wood...´ \$\endgroup\$
    – Trish
    Mar 25 at 7:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov Wrathful smite and Thunderous smite are both paladin spells that appear in no other system I can find via google, I'd say that counts as fairly solid tier 2 evidence. I'd have commented that on the OP, but I haven't passed that rep threshold. I've updated my answer to include this, though. \$\endgroup\$
    – Dragonfang
    Mar 25 at 7:20
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Of note, RAW may not be unclear on inserting bonus actions into the middle of actions. That answer even reads almost exclusively in support of being able to insert bonus actions in-between attacks and that same user has said that that can be done with bonus actions that don't have trigger requirements, such as Cunning Action and smite spells \$\endgroup\$ Mar 25 at 10:30
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Barkue For the record, "stacking" usually means "apply them all at once", so if you mean you want expend your wrathful smite with your first attack, then cast thunderous smite as a bonus action, then make a second attack, you aren't talking about "stacking". You'd only be stacking the Divine Smite with one of your spell-smites, but that's not what you appear to be asking about. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 25 at 21:26

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .