Assume a character is strong enough to carry another, small character. Say a Strength 20 character, who can carry 300 pounds when not using variant encumberance, carries a halfling weighing 50 pounds in a large sack, that can hold the halflings' size and weight.

Invisibility states:

A creature (...) becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target's person.

What happens when invisibility is cast on the carrying character? They and the sack will turn invisible. Will the creature in the invisible sack be visible, or also invisible (which normally would require a higher level cast)?

(Situation came up in our game tonight).

  • \$\begingroup\$ I've closed this as a duplicate, it has been asked before (minus the sack, which doesn't seem material to the question). \$\endgroup\$ Apr 4, 2022 at 21:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ Have you ever tried sneaking around invisibly with a halfling in a sack? I mean, I hope not, but it can't be something you can do stealthily :) \$\endgroup\$
    – NotArch
    Apr 4, 2022 at 21:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Especially not if you are a Shield guardian :-) \$\endgroup\$ Apr 4, 2022 at 21:28


Browse other questions tagged .