10
\$\begingroup\$

To build up from this similar question, does the warlock's +1 bonus from the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation stack with optional bonuses, i.e. flame tongue when activated does 2d6 extra fire damage.

The relevant text for this:

Improved Pact Weapon:

In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.

Flame Tongue:

While the sword is ablaze, it deals an extra 2d6 fire damage to any target it hits.

There is no dispute between the +1 to hit, so I am confident in this bonus being applied. The issue is instead with the damage.

When the flame tongue is not ablaze, it would do x+1 (where x is the base damage). However, when ablaze, will it do x+2d6+1 damage? Or just x+2d6 damage?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Your Pact weapon will deal X+1(slashing/bludgeoning/piercing) +2d6(fire) damage.

You quoted all the relevant rules: the description of the Improved Pact Weapon says that you gain a +1 bonus to attack rolls and damage, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.

A Flame Tongue has no such bonus, it "simply" adds 2d6 fire damage when it is ablaze: hence the requirements for Improved Pact Weapon are met and the weapon will deal X+1 + 2d6 total damage, being the first X+1 of the weapon damage type and the latter 2d6 of fire type.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ So the 1d8 slashing of a flametongue longsword is the "damage roll," and because the 2d6 fire is a separate roll, it doesn't count as a bonus to the damage roll? \$\endgroup\$ Apr 6, 2022 at 19:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @BillThePlatypus Sorry, I do not understand what you're asking there... \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Apr 6, 2022 at 19:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @BillThePlatypus: no, flametongue's 2d6 is also part of the whole attack's "damage roll", and does get doubled on crit. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 6, 2022 at 22:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Bill If a weapon deals multiple types of damage, all the dice together are considered a single damage roll \$\endgroup\$ Apr 8, 2022 at 13:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .