The Druid's Wild Shape class feature states, in part:

[...] If the creature has any legendary or lair actions, you can’t use them.

I do not recall ever seeing any creatures with Legendary or Lair Actions that were also eligible for the Druid's Wild Shape feature, even up to the 20th-level Moon Druid's selection of CR 6 beasts.

Do any such beasts exist in official publications, such that this rule would need to be applied?


1 Answer 1


There are currently no eligible beasts with Legendary or Lair Actions.

It must be the case that this rule exists as a future-proofing measure and reminder, as it echoes the "Legendary Creatures" section of the introduction to the Monster Manual, which states:

If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects.

There are currently no CR 6 or lower beasts with Legendary or Lair Actions. These searches on D&D Beyond would return any eligible creatures, but yield no results:

And finally, the moon Druid’s elemental forms also lack Legendary and Lair Actions.

  • \$\begingroup\$ What about Mythic actions? \$\endgroup\$
    – nick012000
    May 5, 2022 at 22:31
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @nick012000 No, the lowest CR Mythic monster is the undead Dullahan from Van Richten’s Guide at CR 10. \$\endgroup\$ May 5, 2022 at 22:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .