Is a professor orb restricted in any way regarding the language choices it can have? For instance, can a professor orb know Modron or Vegypygmy as languages?

Additionally, is it possible to possess and use multiple professor orbs with the same character?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you a player or the DM? \$\endgroup\$ May 18, 2022 at 11:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Your two questions seem entirely separate, and not dependent on one another at all; you should probably edit one of them out and ask it separately. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    May 20, 2022 at 15:44

1 Answer 1


The DM decides which languages an orb knows.

The description of the Professor Orb states (Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage, p. 284):

The orb speaks, reads, and understands four languages [...]

It gives no guidance concerning which languages or which types of languages are eligible, so the DM determines which languages an orb knows. Additionally, as a Professor Orb does not require attunement, there is nothing preventing a character from owning two Professor Orbs, except of course, the DM. If the DM wants to give out two orbs, then they can.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .