1
\$\begingroup\$

My initial question got closed so I'm asking again because the answers in the referenced questions are inconclusive.

Consider these sequences:

A. Ally A Polymorphs a PC into a giant ape then ally B cast Light on the same PC. The logical result would seem to be a glowing giant ape. The alternative result of Polymorph being replaced with a glowing (human, elf ...) seems incorrect as it implies that polymorph can be dispelled with a cantrip.

B. Ally B cast Light on a PC first and then ally A Polymorphs the same PC into a giant ape. The same spells are cast except in different order. Is casting order relevant? If not then the end result is the same as in sequence A, a glowing giant ape. Otherwise casting order matters with the implication that Polymorph can dispel pre-existing conditions such as Fear or Charm. And that is a significant power boost for Polymorph.

Back to the Circle of Stars druid.

While in your starry form, you retain your game statistics, but your body becomes luminous; your joints glimmer like stars, and glowing lines connect them as on a star chart.

The starry form looks like a light spell although its a magical affect. Logically it should have the same Polymorph interaction as casting the Light cantrip.

I'm trying to understand the implications.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Please revise your original question rather than reposting it to get around closure. Your original question was closed as a duplicate of several questions that ask “does [class feature] work when you polymorph?”, and the answers to those questions over the years have all come up with the same conclusion: class features don’t work while you are polymorphed. So is there something about Starry Form that distinguishes it from other class features, such that the last four times this question has been asked don’t apply to this particular feature? \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2022 at 21:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov I realize we're a number of dupeclosures deep, but I think a feature being activated before polymorph is a distinct from whether a polymorphed creature can activate a class feature (even if there cases of them having the same answer). I still think this should have been edited into its marker instead of reposted. (Sidenote about the examples in this version, I don't think it wholly invalidates you point CWallach, but light doesn't target a creature, but an object) \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    May 22, 2022 at 21:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil Then the question here is still a dupe of the rage and blade song questions if not the one I pointed all of those to. \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2022 at 21:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil a fair point, things should be straightened out now. \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2022 at 21:48

0

Browse other questions tagged .