5
\$\begingroup\$

The Life Cleric's Disciple of Life feature improves the effect of healing spells:

Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell's level.

Does Disciple of Life apply to the healing provided by creatures summoned by spells?

For example, if the Life Cleric casts Summon Celestial and the Celestial uses its Healing Touch, would that benefit from Disciple of Life?

The same would presumably apply to spells such as Conjure Celestial (Unicorn's Healing Touch) or Conjure Woodland Beings (Dryad's Goodberry).

\$\endgroup\$
1

2 Answers 2

19
\$\begingroup\$

The healing bonus only applies to the cleric's own healing spells

You have the relevant text right there

Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell's level.

The text explicitly refers to the cleric's own healing spells ("you"). The healing spells that summoned creatures use are theirs, not those of the cleric. When such a creature is casting a healing spell or using a healing effect such as Healing Touch (not even a spell), it is not the cleric casting or using a healing spell.

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Casting the summoning spell ultimately led to a creature getting its hit points restored. Couldn't we say that the cleric used their spell to restore hit points? \$\endgroup\$ May 26 at 16:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @GuillaumeF. The summoning spell is not restoring hit points, it is summoning a creature. That creature then may be able to do many things. Maybe it would be a separate question on how direct an effect needs to be to count as an effect of a spell, but I think it would be hard to answer in general. \$\endgroup\$ May 26 at 16:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ A similar argument can be made for the Goodberry spell: the spell is not restoring hit points, it is creating a berry that heals. So why would goodberry benefit from Disciple of Life, but not a summoning spell? \$\endgroup\$ May 27 at 0:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ The Sage Advice Compendium specifically says the berries benefit from Disciple of Life. \$\endgroup\$ May 28 at 12:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related: Question on Grim Harvest \$\endgroup\$ May 29 at 4:28
0
\$\begingroup\$

It Shouldn’t Apply, Even if Just for Balance Reasons

Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature

Very interesting, as you are using a spell of 1st level or higher and your goal could be to restore hit points to a creature when you summon something like a unicorn. When the unicorn heals a target using its ability, it's only doing so because of the summoning spell you cast that brought it into being, theoretically meeting the requirements of this ability.

There are some pretty strong arguments against this interpretation—that a summon spell isn't a "healing spell" or that there is no transitive quality for something like this, that only spells which directly heal a target would apply for the ability.

"Healing spells" aren't some defined term, so a spell that has the end result of healing someone seems like it could be considered under that umbrella. Proving that there is some idea of transitive healing between the spell and the conjured creature healing someone would be harder, but it seems just as hard to conclusively say they wouldn't count.

One very important consideration is that this also opens up the single summon spell to trigger this ability multiple times with something like the dryad's 3/day goodberry, with each casting affecting up to 10 creatures (10 berries). So a single 4th-level conjure woodland beings with this interaction could heal something like 210 hit points! And at 7 HP per berry which each last 24-hours, this would even be useful in combat as a potion of healing substitute.

With those considerations in mind, I think rules-wise this would be fine to allow but that the balance issues shouldn't be ignored.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .