To illustrate the situation in a more relatable way, I have a lvl 3 halfling drakewarden ranger who wants to circumvent the whole "it only becomes a mount at lvl 7" argument by hitching it to a rickshaw, as shown:

Adam Savage on his Rickshaw, pulled by a small quadrupedal robot

I could not find anything mentioning if a wagon (or in this case, a chariot would be the closest equivalent) could be pulled by a small-sized creature, but I did find the Lifting and Carrying section of D&DBeyond quite interesting:

Carrying Capacity. Your carrying capacity is your Strength score multiplied by 15. This is the weight (in pounds) that you can carry, which is high enough that most characters don't usually have to worry about it.

Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times your Strength score). While pushing or dragging weight in excess of your carrying capacity, your speed drops to 5 feet.

Size and Strength. Larger creatures can bear more weight, whereas Tiny creatures can carry less. For each size category above Medium, double the creature's carrying capacity and the amount it can push, drag, or lift. For a Tiny creature, halve these weights.

If I am reading this correctly, the carrying capacity (mount) of a creature would be the drake's strength (16) times 15, so 240 lbs (which is already enough to carry him, but still). However, when tied to a land vehicle, the drake's weight limit would then double to 480 lbs, which would be strong enough to carry possibly 2 adventurers.

Am I reading this right, or did I miss something?

As an aside, if my understanding is correct, that would suggest that the 12 rhosgobel (almiraj STR 2) that pulled Radagast's sled would be able to effectively pull 720 lbs, minus the 300 lbs sled, so in effect still be plausible both in reality (cause those weren't CGI hares) and in D&D... that is as long as they don't need the "mount" tag...

Radagast being pulled by 12 Rhosgobel

  • \$\begingroup\$ too bad the gifs didn't work, but still hope the visuals help \$\endgroup\$
    – Victor B
    Commented Jun 7, 2022 at 12:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ They were uploaded as .png's it seems, I used a gif in this question. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 7, 2022 at 13:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Where does the term rohsgobel for the rabbits come from? I thought it was the name of Radagast's home, with a Sindarin meaning of "brown dwelling", is this from the movies? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 7, 2022 at 16:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GroodytheHobgoblin Originally, IRL they are called Flemish Giant, but Peter Jackson added them to the movie. To answer your question, even the fandom you linked calls them Rhosgobel, and so does Radagast in this clip youtube.com/watch?v=3A01_ef_mtM&ab_channel=ArthasFrost \$\endgroup\$
    – Victor B
    Commented Jun 8, 2022 at 8:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @VictorB, I think that explains it. They are "Rhosgobel Rabbits", i.e. rabbits from Rhosgobel (fandom link here), like you would say "Florida Alligators". Thanks for the reply! \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 8, 2022 at 9:39

2 Answers 2


This should work, and better than you originally thought.

The rules for pulling a cart state:

An animal pulling a carriage, cart, chariot, sled, or wagon can move weight up to five times its base carrying capacity, including the weight of the vehicle. If multiple animals pull the same vehicle, they can add their carrying capacity together.

-"Mounts and Vehicles", Basic Rules

So the drake should be able to pull up to five times its base carrying capacity when hitched to a wagon, which looks to be up to 1200 pounds.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Jun 8, 2022 at 22:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, what you're saying is that my bugbear with a strength of 20 can pull a cart weighing up to 3000 pounds. My DM is gonna love this. :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Purplemur
    Commented Jun 13, 2022 at 20:04

Creatures can pull vehicles of five times carrying capacity pounds

There is nothing in the rules that says only mounts can pull vehicles. To the contrary, the rules speak about animals in general, and the table on p. 156 PHB that is listing examples is called Mounts and other animals.

Thomas' answer gives you the relevant rule that

An animal pulling a carriage, cart, chariot, sled, or wagon can move weight up to five times its base carrying capacity, including the weight of the vehicle

The carrying capacity of common animals is listed in the Mounts and Other Animals table. For animals which have no carrying capacity listed there, you can calculate the carrying capacity as follows (in part as per rules on p. 176 PHB that you cite):

  1. Unadjusted carrying capacity = Strength score x 15 lbs
  2. Apply relevant features such as Beast of Burden or Powerful Build
  3. Double for each size category above Medium, half for Tiny.

This will give you the "base carrying capacity" mentioned in the rule.

For example, if you look at the mule in the table, its carring capacity is 420 lbs, and the is a Medium size animal with Strength 14 and the Beast of Burden feature that says "The mule is considered to be a Large animal for the purpose of determining its carrying capacity". So it will be doubling its carrying capacity. This will give you 14 x 15 lbs x 2 = 420 lbs, as listed in the table. It would be able to pull a cart of 2,100 lbs. This rule works for all animals in the table.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .