8
\$\begingroup\$

In the Learn a Spell action, it says:

You can gain access to a new spell of your tradition from someone who knows that spell or from magical writing like a spellbook or scroll.

The rules for scrolls doesn't seem to mention it at all.

So RAW, I don't see anything that says that learning a spell from a scroll consumes the scroll.

However, two decades solid of playing DnD 3, 3.5 and PF1 scream at me that of course it does.

Am I missing something? The only discussion I've found about this thus far is a reddit thread that seems to agree with me, but I wanted more opinions.

Thanks.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

8
\$\begingroup\$

No

As you've mentioned, there's no rule that the scroll would be consumed in PF2.

Learning a Spell just requires access to a source, and a scroll of the spell is noted to qualify as a source. The only expenditure for this activity is described as the materials expended depending on the result of the character's skill check.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! I often think that a 2nd-ed game, or something clearly similar to another game (pathfinder vs. dnd3.5 for example) should have a "here are things that are explicitly different from the thing you played before" section. I mean, PF2 is a big overhaul, but there could definitely be some core points (maybe on a FAQ or something). \$\endgroup\$
    – SirPentor
    Commented Jun 10, 2022 at 22:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .