12
\$\begingroup\$

A Flaming Star lets you cast Produce Flame, which does (at the level when you can get the item) 2d4+(your spellcasting ability modifier) damage.

The question is, how much is "your spellcasting ability modifier" in this case:

  • 2: This is a level 3 item, and its spell attack roll is +7. Assuming it has trained proficiency1, it need a +2 spellcasting ability modifier for the math to work
  • Your spellcasting ability modifier: Spellhearts can use your spell attack roll or spell DC, so it is easiest to handle as if Produce Flame was one of your cantrips
  • Your Charism: cantrips gained through Spellhearts are quite similar to innate spells, and they use Charisma
  • Other

  1. Most likely on level 3
\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

12
\$\begingroup\$

Damage Depends on How you Cast a Spell

Activating this spellheart uses the Cast a Spell activity, which requires that the user already has some form of spellcasting:

If an item lists “Cast a Spell” after “Activate,” the activation requires you to use the Cast a Spell activity to Activate the Item. This happens when the item replicates a spell. You must have a spellcasting class feature to Activate an Item with this activation component.

The ability modifier for this spell would be the same as whatever the user already has for their spellcasting.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ So a base Fighter cannot use a spellheart? \$\endgroup\$ Jun 13, 2022 at 18:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SpearCarrier.no2 that... appears to be the RAW case, yes. This is an excellent spot, Brandon! A base fighter could theoretically not use the spell heart, although presumably even an investment as small as Arcane Sense would let them qualify (or Trick Magic Item if you don't want to use Charisma, but that's much riskier). Not sure I'm a big fan of this being the rules, tbh; I'd probably let non-spellcasters just pretend they have innate spellcasting (trained + Charisma), but that'd be outside the rules. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Jun 13, 2022 at 18:55
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ They could not Activate it, but they could still benefit from passive effects like the flaming star's fire resistance when affixed to armor. Whether something like Trick Magic Item would allow Activation might be a good separate question. \$\endgroup\$
    – brandon
    Jun 13, 2022 at 18:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .