11
\$\begingroup\$

For the purposes of this example, say I'm a Monk with the Summoner Multiclass Dedication, and no focus points to start. If I take the following feats, how many focus points will I have in my pool? One or two?

  • Ki Rush "You gain the ki rush ki spell and a focus pool of 1 Focus Point."
  • Eidolon's Wrath "Increase the number of Focus Points in your focus pool by 1"

If I take Ki Rush first, I gain a focus pool of 1, and then increase that pool to 2 after taking Eidolon's Wrath.

If I take Eidolon's Wrath first, I gain a focus pool of 1, and then do not increase my focus pool for taking Ki Rush, because I already have a focus pool.

Is this correct?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

15
\$\begingroup\$

You have two Focus Points either way

This is addressed pretty explicitly in the rules on Focus Points, except with the example of a Cleric with the Champion archetype:

For instance, if you were a cleric with the Domain Initiate feat, you would have a pool with 1 Focus Point. Let’s say you then took the champion multiclass archetype and the Healing Touch feat. Normally, this feat would give you a focus pool. Since you already have one, it instead increases your existing pool’s capacity by 1.

Ki Rush gives you a focus pool, but you already have one, so it increases your current one by 1.

So ordering doesn't matter (in the very least in this situation; I can't think of one where is does, although obviously my knowledge is not exhaustive).

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. What about the case of Eidolon's Wrath and the Druid Multiclass "Order Spell" feat? Order Spell says: "If you don’t already have one, you gain a focus pool of 1 Focus Point" The order in which you take each feat would matter in that case, correct? \$\endgroup\$
    – Strill
    Jun 18 at 21:38
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Strill Even there, the "one" is referencing a "focus pool". You will only ever have one pool. So you'd still get a focus point. The verbiage on this was errata'd iirc, and I believe the druid was hit by some language-focused errata as well, so it's possible that the Order Spell archetype feat needs to be updated with more clear language, but even as written, I think my answer still holds. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Jun 18 at 21:45
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ How about in the case of the Champion's feat "Deity's Domain" which does not give you a focus pool at all? \$\endgroup\$
    – Strill
    Jun 18 at 21:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Strill the TL;DR is that Paizo didn't do the best job of unifying the language around Focus Points and Pools at the get go - basically, every time you get a focus spell (unless I'm missing some really niche feat), it'll come with a focus point for your pool up to your pool's max of 3. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Jun 20 at 15:11
1
\$\begingroup\$

There are circumstances where order matters

The example in the OP is the same either way, but the order in which you take the Deity's Domain feat does matter, because it does not explicitly give you a focus pool.

You automatically gain a focus pool of 1 Focus Point the first time you gain an ability that gives you a focus spell.

This means that if Deity's Domain is your first focus spell, then you gain a focus pool from it. However, if it is not your first focus spell, you do not gain any focus points from it.

For instance, if you were a cleric with the Domain Initiate feat, you would have a pool with 1 Focus Point. Let’s say you then took the champion multiclass archetype and the Healing Touch feat. Normally, this feat would give you a focus pool. Since you already have one, it instead increases your existing pool’s capacity by 1.

Most focus spells explicitly grant you a focus pool, therefore the above rule can apply to them, raising your focus pool by 1. Deity's Domain, however, does not explicitly grant you a pool, which means it only grants a pool if it's your first focus spell.

In conclusion, if you are a monk:

  • If you take Ki Rush, then multiclass into Champion and take Deity's Domain, you will have one focus point.
  • If you multiclass into Champion and take Deity's Domain, then take Ki Rush, you will have two focus points.
\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah, so mixing the two is how the math can break. It felt like there was something odd about it, but I only considered cases with two Deity's Domain-like abilities or two Ki Rush-like abilities. \$\endgroup\$
    – brandon
    Jun 23 at 20:20

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .