14
\$\begingroup\$

I have a Bard with a couple months of downtime. He wants to cast a second level Lock on the party's locked bag and then train into a different spell. My instincts say that a character probably needs to continue to be able to cast a spell for something like that to work, but I wanted to see what the rules say or at least point towards before I make a ruling. I read through the spells chapter in both my copy of the CRB and on Archives of Nethys but didn't find anything.

New contributor
Slambat is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

20
\$\begingroup\$

The Spell Remains

Under the Long Durations section on spells there's some relevant information including mention that unlimited duration spells are maintained even when the caster dies, which seems like a more severe circumstance than retraining the spell away.

Spells with an unlimited duration last until counteracted or Dismissed. You don’t need to keep a spell slot open for these spells.

Without some mention that spells expire when the caster retrains the ability away, this general rule would apply that the spell lasts until counteracted or Dismissed.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ This brings another question, however - is it possible to dismiss a spell you don't know anymore? \$\endgroup\$
    – T. Sar
    Jun 23 at 4:52
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @T.Sar If you want to ask a follow-up question, it's best to do so as a new question rather than as a comment on an answer. You're more likely to get well-researched answers that way. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Jun 23 at 9:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .