For referencer the feat can be found here http://archive.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/re/20031118a I was wondering, the feat when it says
"When selecting an alternative animal cohort, use the list of alternative animal companions on page 36 of the Player's Handbook, but treat yourself as a druid three levels lower than your character level. For example, once you reach 7th level, you can choose an animal cohort off the list of animal companions available to a 4th-level druid."
unlike the druid entry for its Animal Companion Feature it does not say
"Should she select an animal companion from one of these alternative lists, the creature gains abilities as if the character’s druid level were lower than it actually is. Subtract the value indicated in the appropriate list header from the character’s druid level and compare the result with the druid level entry on the table to determine the animal companion’s powers."
My question is even if it doesnt say does this rule apply to the wild cohort?
Even if the answer is no the companion gained through Wild Cohort doesnt advance as quickly nor does it qualify for Animal Companion Feats. I just had to ask after a disagreement with a group member about how to interperate this feat.