9
\$\begingroup\$

The Circle of Stars druid's Chalice form has the benefit:

Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.

My question is whether this means "Whenever you cast a spell... that restores hit points" or "Whenever you cast a spell... that restores hit points". That is – is it important that you cast a spell AND hit points are restored? Or just that you cast the sort of spell that restores hit points.

This isn't an argument about the timing – it's clear the trigger is the casting of the spell from a timing standpoint. But suppose one were to cast a Healing Word, but the spell failed for some reason – e.g. it was counterspelled. Would the chalice benefit still occur?

Maybe counterspelling was a bad example. What about casting a healing spell on something that can't be healed? A dead animal. A table. A player who already is at max hp.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Jul 28, 2022 at 11:57

1 Answer 1

13
\$\begingroup\$

If it doesn't heal any damage, the benefit would not trigger

The text for chalice form specifies that it triggers when you cast a spell, using a spell slot, that restores HP. It doesn't specify that it works for spells "capable of restoring HP".

Counterspell specifically prevents a spell from working so a counterspelled spell isn't eligible anyway.

Other effects, like being under the influence of a chill touch spell, would also prevent it from working since you wouldn't actually be restoring any HP to the target.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .