In Unearthed Arcana 2022 - Character Origins, the "Critical Hits" section on p. 19 of the PDF states (emphasis mine):
Weapons and Unarmed Strikes* have a special feature for player characters: Critical Hits. If a player character rolls a 20 for an attack roll with a Weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the attack is also a Critical Hit, which means it deals extra damage to the target; you roll the damage dice of the Weapon or Unarmed Strike a second time and add the second roll as extra damage to the target. For example, a Mace deals Bludgeoning Damage equal to 1d6 + your Strength modifier. If you score a Critical Hit with the Mace, it instead deals 2d6 + your Strength modifier.
This tends to mean that only players can score critical hits, just like everybody is speaking about on the Internet at the moment.
However the wording of the "Monsters and Critical Hits" section on p. 248 of the DMG is rather explicit (emphasis mine):
A monster follows the same rule for critical hits as a player character. That said, if you use a monster’s average damage, rather than rolling, you might wonder how to handle a critical hit. When the monster scores a critical hit, roll all the damage dice associated with the hit and add them to the average damage.
So which rule actually takes precedence, and therefore can monsters perform critical hits? Is there any other rule in the PHB or MM or other that would make it clearer in one way or another?