1
\$\begingroup\$

I was planning on running Waterdeep Dragon Heist for my party and i have a doubt. In chapter I page 28 a mindflayer cast Dominate monster on any player or party member who tries to intervene in his escape. Does this spell keeps working even if he is more than 60 feets away from the target?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour and maybe you can visit the help center in case you need any guidance for posting question and answer here. Happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Aug 25 at 16:23

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it keeps working.

The spell description states (emphasis mine):

While the creature is charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence.

The telepathic link lasts while the caster and the target are on the same plane: if the target is 60 ft away from the caster and it is on the same plane of existence, hence the spell is still active. There is no mention about being more than 60 ft away from the caster: for this spell, the range is important at casting time.

Each time the target receives damage, they can repeat the saving throw: in case of success the spell ends, as described in the text.

Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw against the spell. If the saving throw succeeds, the spell ends.

This spell exactly follows the general rules for spell range:

Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.


As a counterexample, consider the Mage Hand cantrip, that explicit states what happen outside specific range (emphasis mine):

A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You ought to mention the rules for spell range that state: "Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise." \$\endgroup\$ Aug 25 at 18:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov You're right, added! \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Aug 25 at 20:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .