The context for this is that a PC druid that is not yet level 8, wants to achieve flight by using the Wild Companion feature from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything to summon a familiar with a fly speed like an owl, and then turn themselves into a small creature like a crab with their Wild Shape that the owl will then carry, thus achieving flight.

So the question is can they have Wild Companion and Wild Shape active simultaneously?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there any reason you think these might not be able to be used simultaneously? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 16, 2022 at 22:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Exempt-Medic they both use the charges for wild shape so I thought there might be something that restricts that, like you can only use one charge of wildshape at a time, but point taken it seems like no such rule exists. \$\endgroup\$
    – Tyscribz
    Commented Sep 16, 2022 at 22:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: "Can the Circle of the Stars druid use their Starry Form feature in conjunction with their Wild Shape form?" \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 16, 2022 at 22:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Be something that the owl would eat, looks more natural. A crab would draw suspicious looks! \$\endgroup\$
    – SeriousBri
    Commented Sep 17, 2022 at 8:11

1 Answer 1


Yes, you can

The Wild Companion feature you gain at 2nd level says:

You gain the ability to summon a spirit that assumes an animal form: as an action, you can expend a use of your Wild Shape feature to cast the find familiar spell, without material components

The Wild Shape feature (also gained at second level) says:

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before. You can use this feature twice. You regain expended uses when you finish a short or long rest.

So you have two uses of Wild Shape per short rest. You could spend one of them to summon a familiar and the other one to transform with Wild Shape. There is nothing that states that you cannot use both uses at the same time; only, normally if you use the Wild Shape to transform a second time, you of course lose your original transformation.

The kinds of beasts you can transform into is only limited by CR, and that they originally may not have a fly speed. A crab would qualify.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .