I'm looking for an entry in the rules that tells me that animal companions do not get additional attacks with a high BAB bonus. But I can't find anything.
The only thing I found was this example in the "rules of the game" column on the wizards page:
For example, a wolf animal companion with a 9th-level master has 8 Hit Dice (2 racial Hit Dice and 6 bonus Hit Dice), a base attack bonus of +6, and a Strength score of 16 (base 13 increased by 3). The wolf companion attack bonus with its bite is +9 (+6 base, +3 Strength). Because a wolf has only one natural weapon (its bite), the wolf gains a second bite attack when it uses the full attack action. The attack bonus for this second attack is +4 (9 - 5).
so, is that correct and why? who gets a second attack at BAB +6 and who doesn't? and where is it in the rules?
EDIT:
what I also found is this clear statement ... but this is from the pathfinder rules so I am not sure if the same is true for 3.5:
Animal companions do not gain additional attacks using their natural weapons for a high base attack bonus.