5
\$\begingroup\$

In the rules, archetypes are divided in two groups. Multiclass Archetypes and Other Archetypes.

If I'm not mistake, in the first group, in order to pick up the archetype (dedication feat) you have to give up a class feat. After that, you need to give up a class feat to pick a feat from that archetype (unless that feat has the skill trait, in which case you can give up a skill feat).

Does it work the same way for the other archetypes, like ghost or geomancer?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

All archetypes work the same way. The general rules for archetypes include these lines: (emphasis mine)

Applying an archetype requires you to select archetype feats instead of class feats. Start by finding the archetype that best fits your character concept, and select the archetype’s dedication feat using one of your class feat choices. Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.

So yes, you take one of these feats instead of a class feat, except when the feat has the skill trait, as you write in the question.

Occasionally, an archetype feat works like a skill feat instead of a class feat. These archetype feats have the skill trait, and you select them in place of a skill feat

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ FWIW, the distinction between multiclass archetypes and other archetypes rarely comes up - the only instance I can think of is Multitalented. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Nov 16, 2022 at 1:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .