6
\$\begingroup\$

Is it possible to put objects that are roughly in the same dimension and serve the same purpose as a wand into Wand Sheathes? Things like Rods, All-Purpose Tools, Sprig of Mistletoe, Holy Symbols, flutes, etc?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

You can only insert a wand

The Wand Sheath common magic item from Eberron - Rising form the Last War states:

  • You can insert a wand into the sheath as an action. The sheath can hold only one wand at a time.
  • You can retract or extend a wand from the sheath as a bonus action. While the wand is extended, you can use it as if you were holding it, but your hand remains free.

It only allows you to instert a wand, and it can only hold a wand. It would need to say so, if it allowed you to insert -- or use without requiring your hand -- something else. The idea behind this way to read the rules is often referred to as "There are no secret rules", and in particular for magic, where we cannot rely on our everyday experience to understand how it would work as "Spells only do what they say they do" (and in extension, magic items, too).

That's the written rules. It's up to your DM to allow you putting in other roughly wand-shaped items and overrule the rules, based on their assessment how fun and balanced that would be.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .