3
\$\begingroup\$

In Dungeons and Dragons 5th edition, can I cast Expeditious Retreat (cast time 1 Bonus Action), the cantrip spell Fire Bolt (cast time 1 Action), and Shield (cast time 1 Reaction) when I am hit by an attack on the same turn?

Does the order of the spells cast matter? I.E. Shield, Fire Bolt, and Expeditious Retreat?

So for example, can I cast Expeditious Retreat as a bonus action, move provoking an opportunity attack from an enemy, cast Shield as a reaction to deflect the attack and then from range attack the enemy with the cantrip Fire Bolt?

Or can I move causing the opportunity attack, cast Shield as a reaction, cast Expeditious Retreat as a bonus action and then from range attack it with the cantrip Fire Bolt?

Does it matter the order of movement and spells cast?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is for D&D 5e, right? \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Feb 3, 2023 at 2:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Pretty sure it'd have to be, bonus action as far as I know is a 5E only term... @Ifusaso \$\endgroup\$
    – Alan
    Feb 3, 2023 at 2:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Seems like it may be answered by Casting multiple spells in a single round \$\endgroup\$
    – Laurel
    Feb 3, 2023 at 3:56

0

Browse other questions tagged .