I gave a pouch, filled with some pebbles, to the Imp to hold.
On my turn, I cast Magic stone with my bonus action and attack with some other cantrip like Mind Sliver or something.
Then on the subsequent turns, I use my bonus action to make the Familiar attack with his reaction by throwing the Magic Stone, and then at the familiar turn, it uses its action to throw another stone.
Now level 4 I'm making 2 attacks with magic Stone, and if I need I can use my action to debuff with a cantrip or something like that.
For more context, if it is needed, I also have the invocation "Investment of the Chain".
I noticed that because of how Magic Stone works just like a weapon attack, I kinda ended up getting the equivalent of "Extra Attack" before the melee characters of the group, so far it didn't really upset anybody or anything I was just wondering if this is a legit use of those spells and features, or if I'm misinterpreting how things should work.
Overall I see this as some earlier "peak" of power before level 5, but I assume that after that this strat will be inferior to the actual "Extra Attack" since the Magic Stone spell only produces 3 stones per casting, so after you throw all of them you have to lose one of those attacks to refill, and also it's limited by how many stones you have. But I'm curious if I just found a fun interaction in the game that I don't see around, or if I just never saw that around because it isn't possible.
I saw that there is a similar question to this one in here But as you can see, the "accepted" answer only talks about the normal "Find Familiar" Spell rules, and don't really mention how the Pact of the chain interacts with it.
The other answer that got downvoted does try to make the point in favor to Pact of the Chain familiars being able to use the stones to attack, but it makes some weird points about "rules of permission and forgiveness" that I never heard anything about in the D&D Community.
I also don't see any comments on their answer negating their points, only the -3 votes are a point against their logic. So I want clarification for this situation in specific.