The monster to potentially be targeted with a Wand of Fear, has the Limited Magic Immunity feature, which reads as follows:

Limited Magic Immunity. Unless it wishes to be affected, this creature is immune to spells of 6th level or lower. It has advantage on saving throws against all other spells and magical effects.

What's tripping me up is the Wand of Fear's first effect, which reads as follows:

Command: While holding the wand, you can use an action to expend 1 charge and command another creature to flee or grovel, as with the command spell (save DC 15).

It does not say it casts the command spell, like many other wands explicitly state that they have you cast a spell from them, but instead that it's as with the spell. Since Limited Magic Immunity explicitly only makes immune to spells, will that creature be affected by the command effect of the wand, or would it be immune?


1 Answer 1


No spell is cast if an item doesn't say so

There are items that let you cast spells and they will clearly state as much. The Wand of Fear doesn't say that a spell is cast, so there isn't one. The expression as with is used so an extensive explanation does not have to be repeated when the spell effect has the desired properties for the item's effect.

Advantage against magical effects applies

Notice, however, that the Wand of Fear is a magic item and therefore has a magical effect. The second clause of the feature granting advantage therefore still applies.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .