An earlier question about a creature that can't speak(a displacer beast) got me thinking: what if the creature was polymorphed into a creature that could understand languages but couldn't speak, such as a pseudodragon?

Polymorph. This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form.


The transformation lasts for the duration

(The duration is 1 hour.)


The creature can't ... speak.


1 Answer 1


A creature can understand the languages stated in its statblock.

The rules for monster game statistics state:

The languages that a monster can speak are listed in alphabetical order. Sometimes a monster can understand a language but can’t speak it, and this is noted in its entry. A “ — ” indicates that a creature neither speaks nor understands any language.

So if the polymorph form’s statblock has a language listed, the creature can understand that language, since the creature’s statistics are replaced by those of the polymorph form:

The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .