Assume you're grappled but you have a melee attack that can cause the paralyzed condition. If you successfully paralyze your grappler, will that break the grapple? Paralysis causes someone to be incapacitated which prevents them from taking actions or reactions, but resisting an attempt to break the grapple (in a contested roll) doesn't require either of these from the grappler.

Is the answer different if the grappler is using the Coiling Grasp Tattoo? In this case, the grappled creature can try to escape using an appropriate check, but it's not a contested roll, so the tattoo's ability to maintain a grapple seems unaffected by its host's paralysis.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To give some feedback on my downvote, the downvote tooltip mentions lack of research, and I think reading whole the grappled condition is the bare minimum you could have done, and it would have answered this for you. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 19, 2023 at 7:16
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov I thought I had followed the various logic chains, but I guess the "incapacitated" nested inside the paralyzed condition got me turned around and I wasn't thinking clearly enough to catch it -- especially since I was confused by the mechanical difference in the tattoo's grapple. I would gladly delete my question, but the system won't let me since you've answered it. \$\endgroup\$
    – gto
    Commented May 19, 2023 at 8:52

1 Answer 1


“The condition ends if the grappler is incapacitated”

The grappled condition states:

  • The condition ends if the grappler is incapacitated

So yes, paralyzing the grappler ends the grapple since paralyzed includes incapacitated.

  • \$\begingroup\$ What about the Coiling Grasp Tattoo? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Commented May 20, 2023 at 13:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor Same answer for the same reason, but I’ll add a note about it. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 20, 2023 at 13:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .