Exactly what the title says.
I'm playing a monk in a Tomb of Annihilation campaign. My game plan has been to keep our party alive as much as possible through debuffs, body blocking opponents, and the like.
I recently saw the disarm optional rule and began wondering if you could both disarm and stunning strike as part of the same action. Disarm reads as follows:
A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) check or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check. If the attacker wins the contest, the attack causes no damage or other ill effect, but the defender drops the item.
Stunning Strike reads as follows:
When you hit another creature with a melee weapon attack, you can spend 1 ki point to attempt a stunning strike
The reasons that I believe this could work is because Disarm specifically calls itself a melee weapon attack, which is all that Stunning Strike requires.
I also says that the foe "Doesn't suffer any other ill effect" so I'm wondering which would take precedence, (e.g. whether or not if Stunning Strike is counted separately from the actual attack.)