6
\$\begingroup\$

Polearm Master states:

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon.

So if you are wielding a weapon with 10' reach and an enemy starts their turn 10' away, do they provoke the opportunity attack when they move closer to only 5' away?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ If this is something you want to make happen for your character, check out the Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark. There is a fighting style called Tunnel Fighter that allows this. It never made it into something official, but you could always ask your DM. \$\endgroup\$
    – Shadomew
    May 22, 2023 at 11:57
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Shadomew It was never published because it was horribly broken. \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2023 at 12:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov From personal experience, I know how broken it is. Sometimes DMs will let players have powerful items/features because it's fun to be powerful, so there's no harm in OP asking their DM about it. \$\endgroup\$
    – Shadomew
    May 22, 2023 at 16:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ This was the case in 3.5, where you would also trigger an opportunity attack by "moving within" the threatened area. In 5e this is not the case. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rad80
    May 23, 2023 at 8:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe if you had a second polearm, with which you had only 5' reach... \$\endgroup\$ May 23, 2023 at 19:16

1 Answer 1

30
\$\begingroup\$

A creature within your reach already cannot enter your reach.

To “enter” your reach, as required by Polearm Master, a creature must go from not being in your reach to being in your reach. This is what the word “enter” means. If a creature is already within your reach, and they move around within your reach, they have not entered your reach.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Too small for me to edit, but I assume The “enter” you reach, should be To “enter” your reach,. \$\endgroup\$
    – MJ713
    May 22, 2023 at 21:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks, MJ713. Edited that. You could make an edit that small at 2,000 reputation. \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2023 at 22:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .