7
\$\begingroup\$

A paladin casts Find Steed into a ring of Spell Storing.

Another character then casts the Find Steed spell from the ring.

The ring definition says that the spell uses the casting level, save DC etc of the original caster, but "...is otherwise treated as if you [the ring wearer] cast the spell."

So, which of these outcomes makes sense

A. The spell summons the Paladin's Steed. (Assuming it isn't already present) B. The ring summons the Paladin's Steed, or a copy of it if its already present. C. The ring summons a new steed for the ring bearer. D. Something else I haven't considered yet.

EDIT : This question differs to this one Can a ring of spell storing and access to Find spells produce an endless menagerie?

Because I'm asking whether the ring bearer would summon a new steed, or the original steed belonging to the character that put the spell into the ring.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi Alan, I've marked your question as a dupe because I think it has been asked before. This isn't a bad thing as this question might help others find that one. If that question doesn't answer it for you, please clarify for us how and why, and we'll see what needs to be done to help you. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 3, 2023 at 14:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ This seems to be a subquestion of the otehr. \$\endgroup\$
    – Trish
    Jul 3, 2023 at 19:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NobodytheHobgoblin This is a pretty straightforward duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 3, 2023 at 20:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkovisonStrike The answer to the other also answers this one, the question however is slightly different about how many steeds one can have with this. As the asker feels the other question is not helping them, I'd rather not be religious about it and hand them a bad experience. But you of course can re-close it if you prefer. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 3, 2023 at 20:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does this answer your question? Can a ring of spell storing and access to Find spells produce an endless menagerie? \$\endgroup\$
    – Trish
    Jul 3, 2023 at 21:40

1 Answer 1

8
\$\begingroup\$

You summon your own steed

Ring of Spell Storing says:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.

The ownership of the steed is not the slot level, DC, attack bonus or spellcasting ability. Therefore it is not transferred from the original caster: everything else is treated as if you cast the spell, so you get your very own steed, not one belonging to the caster that put the spell into the ring.

Note that once it dies you however cannot re-summon it, as the spell is spent. You need someone to reload the ring with another instance of it first.

\$\endgroup\$
2

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .