6
\$\begingroup\$

The Eldritch Invocation, One with Shadows states

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

So does teleporting, such as that of a Misty Step spell, break the invisibility?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Invisibility is broken by bonus actions

There are three different triggers to break the invisibility provided by this feature. Those are listed as :

  • Move
  • Take an action
  • Take a reaction

Bonus actions count as an additional action on your turn (see this Q&A), so it will trip the second trigger of the feature.

As such, as soon as you take your bonus action, you will break invisibility.

What about being moved by something else?

We've ruled out that casting the teleportation spell yourself breaks invisiblity, but what if you're teleported by another effect?

In the case where you do not use an action, bonus action or reaction, there is still the trigger of "move".

However, the term "move" directly refers to the movement you can do during your turn, which uses your speed. It is defined in the combat rules as such :

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action.

This is backed up by the wording of the feature itself, which features this term alongside the other actions one may take during their turn (emphasis mine) :

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

As such, as the rules are written, you can be moved by other effects, such as teleportation, without breaking invisibility.

\$\endgroup\$
14
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Plain English: Has an object which had been moved, moved? You'll find the answer is yes. The intent seems to hold the warlock stationary. Whoever was the motor force for said movement seems irrelevant. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 6, 2023 at 14:48
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @MindwinRememberMonica except that this is a game and not a novel. And it is well established that game terms can have quite distinct meanings and definitions from their original english. "to move" is such a game term: dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#MovementandPosition. Moving in D&D is a precisely defined thing that a) uses speed (a concept completely contrary to it's English meaning) and b) is intentional and c) on one's term. We can't rule out c) or b) but a) is a clear indicator \$\endgroup\$
    – Hobbamok
    Jul 6, 2023 at 15:34
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @Hobbamok The fact that "move" is a game term and does not have its normal English meaning is perhaps most clearly stated in the PHB errata: "Is standing up from prone considered moving? Standing up costs movement but moves you nowhere. When the game refers to you moving, it means moving some distance. It doesn’t mean making a gesture or standing up in place. To move while prone, you crawl or use magic" \$\endgroup\$
    – Kirt
    Jul 6, 2023 at 16:21
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't think it is reasonable to consider someone being moved around as "you are not moving" for the sake of this. The point seems that you stand (mostly) still and are invisible. Make one step and become visible. But get thrown around the room and still remain invisible? It doesn't make any logical sense to me. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 6, 2023 at 18:08
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ PHB189: "If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first turn of the combat..." If there is no rules distinction between moving and being moved, then clearly being surprised renders you immune to the forced movement of thunderwave, thorn whip, etc. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kirt
    Jul 7, 2023 at 19:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .