11
\$\begingroup\$

Spurred from another similar question:

The Eldritch Invocation, One with Shadows states (emphasis mine)

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

On my turn, I find a dark spot and turn invisible there as my action and end my turn. (I am not technically hidden if it matters)

If after this, an enemy were to successfully shove, eldritch repelling blast, and/or thorn whip me and I survive the attack, am I still invisible?

In each case I have been shoved, pushed, and/or pulled in any of these situations where I end up on a different "square" than I started prior to being affected by their attack.

Additionally, should I be affected by a spell such as Command "Approach", is there any reason I would not be considered as moving when I'm forced to take the move action toward the creature I'm being commanded by?

Seems a simple answer, (no) but in some cases there is room for debate it seems where I am somehow still invisible based on the term/definition of "move".

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm struggling to find this as a duplicate, but there are many questions regarding forced movement. If you search "forced movement [dnd-5e]", are you able to find any other questions that help you out? For example, related at Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? (This doesn't answer your question specifically, since the answer sites specific rules for opportunity attacks) \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 7, 2023 at 18:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Indeed, but it's not so much the forced movement alone, and it answers the case of someone compelling me to move on my turn. The answer to this includes the line "when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction" which is the exact situation I'm looking to account for. I've heard that "if it's not your turn, you aren't moving" as well as "you can only 'move' if you are expending movement" which was explained that you didn't "move", but "was moved", or are being pulled, or being pushed, which to me... all of them I would think to break invisibility. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 7, 2023 at 18:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/207123/… Here's the question that inspired this question. I figured this was a more direct way to address the definition on when I'm considered to "move" or "not move" \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 7, 2023 at 18:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DangerLake I was going to ask whether the second part of Mattheiu's answer at that reference answers your question...but then I read your comments. It doesn't seem from there that you really need to ask this question here, since you have already decided what the answer is at your table? \$\endgroup\$
    – Kirt
    Commented Jul 7, 2023 at 19:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ The second part of that answer is the crux of the issue, it's an assertion. I've now seen multiple definitions of "move" from various contexts, some during your turn, others not, in which conditions of willfulness/etc are required, but not always. The first comment of that answer sums up my point of view. If you've changed locations, you have moved, in which during said process, you move. There is no phase state where the past/present doesn't occur to arrive to the eventual future, that you have moved. It's splitting of hairs and so far my counter-points seem to stand ignored/unaddressed. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 10, 2023 at 21:34

1 Answer 1

2
\$\begingroup\$

Movement requires you to expend speed or act

The Movement and Position rules explain it this way (p. 190 PHB):

On your turn,you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn, following the rules here. Your movement can include jumping, climbing, and swimming. These different modes of movement can be combined with walking, or they can constitute your entire move. However you’re moving, you deduct the distance of each part of your move from your speed until it is used up or until you are done moving.

So the defining criterium for your movement generally is that you are spending speed. If some effect compels you to spend your speed (say, a command spell), you are moving. If some effect changes your position without you spending speed (or taking actions or reactions to move, see below) you are not moving, you are being moved.

So for your One with Shadows invisible warlock, being commanded to move would turn you visible, being shoved or pulled by a thorn whip or blasted with a thunderwave would not make you visible.

This interpretation is also supported by a wordy Sage Advice Compendium entry:

Does Polearm Master let me make an opportunity attack against a target that is being forced to approach me?
A creature doesn’t provoke an opportunity attack if it is moved without the use of its movement, its action, or its reaction. For example, the effect of the antipathy/sympathy spell requires the target to use its movement, meaning that it would provoke opportunity attacks when it does so. Similarly, dissonant whispers requires the target to move using its reaction (if available), so that activity also provokes opportunity attacks. In contrast, a creature that’s pushed by a gust of wind spell does not provoke opportunity attacks.

This explains the "generally" rider above: some actions, bonus actions or reactions allow you to move without spending speed, like for example a barbarians Instinctive Pounce or casting misty step. They require an action or bonus action from you, so you are actively moving, you are not being moved, and so they would end your Invisibility.

This caveat also resolves the contradiction one would otherwise face if movement was defined only by paying speed, because the PHB says on p. 191:

To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation.

So you move when you use teleportation to change your location, even though this does not expend your movement, in contradiction to the first quote above. (Note that you would not be susceptible to an opportunity attack here, as those don't work on teleportation). You don't move, if someone else teleports you — again, you are being moved in that case.

\$\endgroup\$
12
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ An extension of this that gets brought up less often than spells causing forced movement : if you're riding on a sailing ship or some other vehicle which is moving, you won't suddenly become visible unless you are using your action to crew the vehicle. Mounts might be a bit more questionable, but I would rule you could be on a mount and remain invisible as long as you don't need to spend any sort of action to direct the mount. \$\endgroup\$
    – RisingZan
    Commented Jul 8, 2023 at 0:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Good answer. Some other relevant quotes can be found in comments here, here, and here \$\endgroup\$
    – Kirt
    Commented Jul 8, 2023 at 6:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RisingZan Interesting choice of a sailing ship - it reminds me of the arguments made about motion in Galileo's Dialogues Concerning the two Chief World Systems. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kirt
    Commented Jul 9, 2023 at 16:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm going to have to disagree with the point you're trying to prove with your first quote, as it clearly states at the beginning "on your turn", it doesn't state anything about the nature of movement that might happen outside of your turn, which is what OP is asking about. As such, it cannot preclude the possibility of you moving without the use of movement outside of your turn. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kryomaani
    Commented Jul 15, 2023 at 2:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Secondly, I do not think the excerpt about opportunity attack proves the point, quite the contrary: "if it is moved without the use of its movement, its action, or its reaction" directly implies it is moving without consuming its movement. All this says is that it doesn't provoke an opportunity attack despite having moved. OP's question is not about opportunity attack but moving, which clearly has happened in this case. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kryomaani
    Commented Jul 15, 2023 at 2:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .