Can you create a potion of Inflict Serious (etc.) Wounds?

If so, does it give you the ability to do a touch attack which does the Inflict, or does it Inflict the wounds on the drinker?


1 Answer 1


Yes; it damages the drinker.

The rules on potions, from the SRD:

It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute.

Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber.

And under Creating Potions:

The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target. Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions.

There's no rule that potions have to be beneficial to you.

In fact, a few D&D 3e sourcebooks feature potions of inflict light/moderate/serious wounds, mainly as they heal undead. The psychic vampire Kantos from the Libris Mortis web enhancement Tarus's Banquet carries a potion of inflict moderate wounds, as does the phantom ghast ninja Kugan from Monster Manual V.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .