I have seen different written rules as well as interpretations regarding whether or not a bugbear's Surprise Attack requires surprise and would like to receive guidance based on the latest rules-as-written as of August 2023.
In an earlier post on this forum from 2019, the poster appears to quote written rules which differ from what we see in the text Mordenkainen Presents: Monster's of the Multiverse. My edition of this text is dated November 2021.
Here is the StackExchange post from 2019:
However, in my edition of Monster's of the Multiverse, page 8, the Bugbear trait is described as follows:
"Surprise Attack: If you hit a creature with an attack roll, the creature takes an extra 2d6 damage if it hasn't taken a turn yet in the current combat."
While the title does include the word "surprise attack", the description omits "surprise" as a required element, so I wanted to verify with the community whether or not this element was still required according to rules available as of August 2023.