Potion usage costs an action according to RAW, as stated in the DMG on page 139:
Drinking or administering a potion takes an action.
However, I have heard of GM's house-ruling that PC's may use a bonus action to drink a potion -- at least for oneself (pouring it down the mouth of an unconscious ally still requires an action). Would this materially unsettle the balance of the game, e.g. could it be exploited by players in a way that makes them over-powered?
Please say if you have ruled this way at your table and what the results were like. Or, if you believe that it would be over-powered, please explain the combination of rules or situations that would result in that being the case.