1
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing in a campaign that's (mostly) running under DFRPG (4th Ed. rules exist as legacy, since as a play-by-post it's been running for many years and predates much of DF and all of DFRPG).

I've just built a character who uses a magic item to cast a spell he can also cast himself (main reasons for this are: no skill penalty for "spells on" and the value of the enchantment allows it to also act as a Power Item). Given that the minimum skill to enchant is 15 with both Enchant and the spell applied (even though Enchantment is strictly an NPC activity in DF/DFRPG), the casting skill for the item must be 15 or higher -- but I haven't found a specific statement whether a user-powered item-cast spell gives the same energy discount as if the spell had been cast directly at skill 15 or higher.

Is this explicit somewhere (in DF/DFRPG or Magic 4th) that I haven't found?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

No, an item-cast spell's skill level does not give a discount on the energy cost.

This is clear in both DFRPG Exploits, p. 77 and GURPS Magic, p. 19. You have to read slightly carefully, because of the term "Power" which is used as effective skill for items that cast spells.

  • Exploits: "Energy cost is the same as for a normal casting of the spell. High Power doesn’t affect this ..."

  • Magic: "Energy cost is the same as for a normal casting of the spell. High Power does not affect this (but the Power spell does – see p. 57).

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ So the only direct advantage of having an item that lets me cast a spell I know at SL 15 is to avoid the footprint? Guess that's another question... \$\endgroup\$
    – Zeiss Ikon
    Oct 8, 2023 at 17:42

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .