Pixies are CR1/4 so any character targeted with polymorph could become a pixie. Polymorph is an ability a pixie has that can be cast at 1/day. So if a wizard cast polymorph on themselves to a pixie I think they can then cast polymorph again on a party member to make them a pixie. That member could then do the same to the next party member etc.

Probably not the most effective use of polymorph for combat, but since pixies fly and are invisible seems like instant solve for most stealth missions.

Maybe one should rule that they wouldn't have the once per day available?


1 Answer 1


This does not work. Plain Polymorph is limited to transformation into beasts (emphasis added):

The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's (or the target's level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating).

Since Pixies are Fey, not Beasts, Polymorph can't transform you into a Pixie, and the higher level True Polymorph spell that could perform this transformation couldn't chain to produce more Pixies (because the Pixie itself only has plain Polymorph).

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ On top of that, it does not appear that True Polymorph would be in the statblock of any officially published creatures as of writing, outside of two named NPCs: Scanlan Shorthalt from Tal'dorei campaign setting reborn (3rd party published but available on D&D Beyond) and Arcturia from Dungeon of the mad mage, though the latter has a prohibitively high CR of 21. And obviously you'd have to convince your DM to allow you to polymorph into a specific NPC first... \$\endgroup\$
    – Kryomaani
    Oct 30, 2023 at 7:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Kryomaani: Yeah, and while True Polymorph isn't quite as clear about it as Shapechange, I'd argue that "you turn a creature into another kind of creature" (emphasis added) indicates that you can't turn them into a specific (leveled) example of another kind of creature. It's already kinda ridiculous that, RAW, you can turn someone into an archmage (which is just a simplified pre-built high-level Wizard), but letting someone turn into a specific individual is definitely violating the "kind of creature" clause. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 30, 2023 at 21:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .