1
\$\begingroup\$

Telekinesis allows you to affect worn objects.

Normally, to wear armor takes at least 1 minute and up to 10 while you buckle and fasten things, and removing it is up to 5 minutes and as little as one while you unbuckle the same things.

Is a suit of worn armor, for the purposes of the Telekinesis spell, a single discrete object, upon which

You can exert fine control on objects with your telekinetic grip

And is then subject to me using Telekinesis to unbuckle everything instantly, leading to...

If the object is worn or carried by a creature, you must make an ability check with your spellcasting ability contested by that creature’s Strength check. If you succeed, you pull the object away from that creature and can move it up to 30 feet in any direction but not beyond the range of this spell.

A pile of armor on the ground that it takes them at least a full minute to get back into for each failed STR check?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

11
\$\begingroup\$

This is unlikely to work unless your DM is generous

The spell allows you to remove a worn object if you win the contest, and that section has no condition riders. However, I think it is clear from the context, that the object is not especially difficult to remove or secured, the sentence is there so you cannot just pick stuff of another creature. This is because of the full quote for fine control you can exert as your action in Telekinesis is:

You can exert fine control on objects with your telekinetic grip, such as manipulating a simple tool, opening a door or a container, stowing or retrieving an item from an open container, or pouring the contents from a vial.

The list of examples clarifies the extent of the fine control. These activites are no more complex than things that take one action. You for example also can withdraw a potion from your backpack or open a door as a single free object action (p. 190, PHB), so the kind of fine manipulation you can do fits with something that takes a single object interaction, not with something that would take you a minute to open multiple buckles, hooks etc. that doffing an armor takes. You would not be able to "to unbuckle everything instantly" as a single action.

I do not think this would work, as the level of effort to doff armor is much larger than the level of fine control that you could do as your action with Telekinesis in the turn. Your DM might rule that you just forcefully rip off the armor (after all, you can excert enough force to move 1,000 lbs of stuff), but that would be entirely up to them.

\$\endgroup\$
15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ suggesting that you can just forcefully rip the armor will mean that there's some damage inflicted to armor or the wearer - which if I were the DM I won't want to deal with. \$\endgroup\$
    – Vylix
    Nov 2, 2023 at 8:56
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ +1, FWIW, I am considered a very generous DM (by my players, not just myself) and I still would not allow this to work like that. IF I even allowed the player to do it, I would probably rule the person inside the armour getting pulled together with it on a failed STR check. \$\endgroup\$
    – AnnaAG
    Nov 2, 2023 at 10:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe he's wearing the armor from Kamen Rider Kabuto and you just have to pull a lever to make it all explode off him. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 2, 2023 at 16:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @TheFallen0ne Maybe think of if this way: just because you cast the spell you don’t get the mental capability to open ten clasps at once, each of which needs separate detail handling and your attention. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 2, 2023 at 21:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @TheFallen0ne I don't know if you've ever seen a set of full plate armour irl but it could in no reasonable way be considered a single object if you wanna go with the "plain English" thing. But regardless of that, you seem dead set on your own interpretation, which is kinda fine but why ask in the first place if you will refuse to accept any answer that doesn't support your reasoning? \$\endgroup\$
    – AnnaAG
    Nov 7, 2023 at 9:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .