You are a valid target of Bestow Power as you are "one psionic creature"

You link your mind with another psionic creature’s mind, creating a brief conduit through which mental energy can be shared. When you manifest this power, the subject gains up to 2 power points. You can transfer only as many power points to a subject as it has manifester levels.

One could argue the first sentence is just fluff and the real effect description starts on the second sentence. On the other hand one could argue the opposite and say the text is not italicized therefore not fluff therefore valid targets that are not another psionic creature's mind make the power fail.

Schism is a separate mind as you. However is the Schism a "another psionic creature's mind"?

  1. The Schism is not a "another psionic creature" despite schism being another psionic mind and the power likens you to two characters sharing one body. Multi-headed monsters are not treated as separate creatures for each head. So if the power is specifically asking for another creature, the answer is no.
  2. On the other hand, the power is asking for another MIND and the Schism is most definitely a separate MIND than you. So if the power is asking for another "psionic creature's mind" then the answer is yes because Schism, while not a separate creature, is a separate mind. The schism is a "psionic creature's mind".
  3. Schism is your mind, not another creature's mind. It is another mind but not another creature's mind. So the answer is no.

Fission is definitely a separate psionic creature and mind as you. However

You cannot use fusion or metaconcert with a duplicate, or share any other power or effect that pools abilities (the sum of you and you is still just you). Similarly, attempting to use powers such as claws of the vampire or vampiric blade to hurt your duplicate only damages your duplicate; these powers do not heal you. Empathic transfer and similar powers are likewise ineffective (transferring wounds to yourself isn’t a good healing strategy).

Does the above exclude Bestow Power?


1 Answer 1


I believe the answer is 'not going to work' with Schism but 'maybe' regarding Fusion.

Regarding using Bestow Power on a Schism mind, the power is looking for both another creature and another mind. Both qualities have to be met by the single target. Thus I feel it is a solid no.

Regarding using Bestow Power on a Fission target, the wording is more shaky. The phrase "similar powers" could apply to the idea of transferring, or to the idea of healing, or the more general idea of restoration. Given that the rest of the examples are "pool abilities" or deal exclusively with healing, it could be that wording was intended; or it could be that the designers simply declined, forgot, or were forced by budget/word count constraints to not include a comprehensive list.

Basically, if it is judged that any sort of transfer is 'ineffective', then it would not work. However, if it is instead decided that it only applies to healing and pooling effects only, then it should work.

Even considering the possibility of attempting to use some variant of the recharge trick with Bestow Power, since the player would be willing to burn the power points needed to manifest Fusion, this DM would allow it - but keep track of time relative to anything happening in the surroundings.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .