3
\$\begingroup\$

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things has a feature, Hidden Ace, that says "when you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class's spell list and imbue that spell into a card." After this you can "you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within."

A 15th-level Wizard, could choose to imbue Antipathy/Sympathy into a card as they finish a long rest. Antipathy/Sympathy has a casting time of 1 Hour. When the Wizard uses their bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell, is it immediately cast without the 1 Hour casting time?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

13
\$\begingroup\$

"The chosen spell must have a casting time of 1 action"

Cartomancer states:

The chosen spell must have a casting time of 1 action

So you cannot choose a spell with a longer casting time.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • \$\begingroup\$ Although, Wish is a spell that takes a bonus action to cast... \$\endgroup\$ Nov 3, 2023 at 2:00
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @DanielTose: The version of the rule that I'm seeing says that the spell's level "must be less than or equal to your proficiency bonus." Proficiency bonuses don't go up to +9, so you can't use this trick on ninth level spells at all. That's... probably for the best, but by the time a player has access to Wish, "balance" is more a matter of fluff than crunch anyway. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kevin
    Nov 3, 2023 at 2:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ This wins the price for most concise, complete answer. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 3, 2023 at 9:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Kevin So there's no way to get a proficiency bonus of +9? \$\endgroup\$
    – Nzall
    Nov 6, 2023 at 9:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Nzall No, prof bonus caps at 6. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 6, 2023 at 9:13

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .