0
\$\begingroup\$

The Freedom of the Waves spell from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says (emphasis mine):

You can choose a number of creatures equal to your spellcasting modifier (minimum of 1) to automatically succeed on this saving throw.

Many other features and spells like this use the wording "up to" rather than the "equal to" seen in Freedom of the Waves. For example, Feather Fall (emphasis mine):

Choose up to five falling creatures within range

If the caster's spellcasting modifier is +4, is the caster left with only the choices of choosing 4 creatures or not choosing any, because it says "equal to"? Or could the caster choose 1, 2, or 3 creatures instead?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ I’ve closed this as a duplicate, this question has been asked before about a different feature with the same problematic wording. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Nov 4, 2023 at 17:25

0

Browse other questions tagged .