5
\$\begingroup\$

The NPC Ezmerelda d'Avenir from Curse of Strahd (p. 230) has this action (emphasis mine):

Curse (Recharges after a Long Rest). Ezmerelda targets one creature that she can see within 30 feet of her. The target must succeed on a DC 14 Wisdom saving throw or be cursed. While cursed, the target has vulnerability to one type of damage of Ezmerelda’s choice. The curse lasts until ended with a greater restoration spell, a remove curse spell, or similar magic. When the curse ends, Ezmerelda takes 3d6 psychic damage.

In my game, Ezmerelda was dominated and used this curse on a PC to give them fire vulnerability. Shortly after that, she died.

As I would rule it, the curse stays until it is dispelled, even though she is dead and can't take the 3d6 psychic damage. Is my ruling correct, according to RAW/RAI?

P.S.: The party has access to remove curse, so one PC having fire vulnerability for a session or two is not a huge issue.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ There should be a duplicate for this. A spell/effect that lists multiple things has as much as possible of it happening. I can't find the duplicate that explains it right now. \$\endgroup\$
    – VLAZ
    Dec 8, 2023 at 14:54

1 Answer 1

18
\$\begingroup\$

"The curse lasts until ended with a greater restoration spell, a remove curse spell, or similar magic"

The ability does not require that Ezmerelda be alive for the curse to work. This also is not a concentration effect that requires her to concentrate to sustain it. The curse states the conditions under which it will end:

  • Greater Restoration gets cast on the target
  • Remove Curse gets cast on the target
  • A similar spell gets cast on the target

This list of conditions does not include the death of Ezmerelda, so her death does not affect an active curse.

When the curse ends, Ezmerelda takes 3d6 psychic damage is a result of the curse ending, not a condition. If she is dead, this won't happen (as corpses are objects, and objects are typically immune to psychic damage).

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .