In D&D 5th edition, can the Hold Person spell affect an Eladrin NPC?

The Hold Person spell specifically targets "humanoids". Meanwhile, the (NPC/monster) stat blocks for Eladrin say that they are officially classified as "Fey (elf)". Fey is a fey, and Elf is a humanoid.

I saw that someone posted somewhere:

Elf is a tag, not a creature type. Eladrin are elves that have not yet lost their fey nature. Humanoid elves are elves that have.

I just wanted to verify the official rules.

  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ I think you should clarify that you are talking about the monster eladrin, not the PC eladrin. The monster eladrin is a Fey, but the PC eladrin is a Humanoid. \$\endgroup\$
    – mdrichey
    Commented Jan 14 at 5:19

1 Answer 1


Tags have no rules of their own.

From the Introduction to the Monster Manual (or the corresponding part of the Basic Rules):

The parenthetical tags provide additional categorization for certain creatures. The tags have no rules of their own, but something in the game, such as a magic item, might refer to them.

Therefore, tags have no effect on the creature's Type. The Elf tag does not indicate humanoid or fey, it is merely a category marker.

So, no, hold person does not affect Eladrin since they do not have the Type of Humanoid.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .