0
\$\begingroup\$

If you have a dexterity of 30 and a wisdom or constitution of 30, with Unarmored Defense for Barbarian your AC while not wearing armor would be 10+your dexterity modifier + your constitution modifier for a Barbarian. Your AC would be 30 because 10+10+10=30. If you had a dexterity of 30 and were a Sorcerer of the Draconic Bloodline, you would gain the feature of Draconic Resilience, your AC when you are not wearing armor would be 13+ dexterity modifier. That means your AC would be 23 because 13+10=23. So if you were a Barbarian/Sorcerer multiclass, could your AC hypothetically stack to 33 because 13+10+10=33?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

No. If multiple things/effects give you more than 1 way to calculate your AC you pick one, you can't combine them.

So in your example the character either has 10+DEX+WIS or 10+DEX+CON or 13+DEX, but never 13+DEX+CON/WIS.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note that there are straight up AC boosts available, but they're not phrased as a new way to calculate AC. Shields stack, Warforged get a straight +1 AC that stacks with any AC calculation they might use, etc. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 24 at 22:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there text in the rulebook(s) or Sage Advice to cite for this? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 26 at 11:57
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso the Player's Handbook reads "Some spells and class features give you a different way to calculate your AC. If you have multiple features that give you different ways to calculate your AC, you choose which one to use". It's in the Character Creation section, under "Step-By-Step Characters". \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 26 at 12:11

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .