When using the spell astral projection, you gain a vulnerability: If your silver cord is severed, you die:

If the cord is cut--something that can happen only when an effect specifically states that it does--your soul and body are separated, killing you instantly.

However, this can only happen if an effect specifically states it can do so. An example of this is the silver longsword of the githyanki knight, which states that it can sever a silver cord on a crit.

On a critical hit against a target in an astral body (as with the astral projection spell), the githyanki can cut the silvery cord that tethers the target to its material body, instead of dealing damage.

However, the rare magic item adamantine armor states that

any critical hit against you becomes a normal hit.

Does this make it so that this type of effect cannot sever your silver cord?


1 Answer 1


Yes, adamantine armor protects from the critical hits of a githyanki sword.

You quoted the relevant rules: wearing an adamantine armor transforms any critical hit in a mundane hit, hence a githyanki cannot severe your silver cord.

You can compare the wording with similar game effects: a vorpal sword requires just a 20 on the attack roll, not a critical hit, for severing the target's head.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This might be RAW but its a really poor suggestion. The cord is absolutely not inside the armour \$\endgroup\$
    – SeriousBri
    Feb 8 at 18:58
  • 16
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri So, answering correctly within the rules is worthing a downvote? Ok, noted that. I think that ending each answer with "but your DM could overrule that" is a bit much, when it is not needed. \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Feb 8 at 19:02
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri That's subjective. In this case, there is nothing wrong within the rules for me, and plenty of room for in-game justification for the rules itself (for example, adamantine is a special material and in the Astral Plane provides protection for your body and for your silvery cord; the silvery cord is linked to your heart and the gith's sword cannot reach it with a critical hit, ...). What does not make sense for you may have a lot of sense for others. \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Feb 9 at 14:24
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri And, more specifically, It also seems like what you want in a "good answer" would actually make this Answer worse by adding speculation and subjectivity where none is necessary. (And my understanding from Meta is that this is undesirable--good subjectivity is subordient to factually correct.) And there is value in being able to ask a human and have a publicly available Answer rather than having to buy every book and read every rule to make sure you didn't miss anything. That's the entire point of the Q&A format vs. the "Set of rules" format. SE answers are easily googleable. \$\endgroup\$
    – trlkly
    Feb 10 at 7:35
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @DerrekBertrand The quoted statement suggests otherwise, as it says only that which is explicitly stated to cut the cord can do so. And the weapon in question says you must attack an Astral Body to get the ability to cut the cord. It does not give a way to attack the cord and successfully cut it. \$\endgroup\$
    – trlkly
    Feb 10 at 7:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .