Would spells like Control Water, Shape Water, and (Create or) Destroy Water work on water(?) from the River Styx?
In other words, does "water" in Styx count as water?

I'm asking in context of D&D 5e. The only source regarding Styx I know of is Descent into Avernus, and I didn't find any response to my question there.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Is there a specific source book for a setting that you're using with rules, mechanics, or a description for the river Styx? Or are you asking based on the river as described in Greek mythology? \$\endgroup\$ Feb 16 at 12:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanC.Thompson Im assuming it’s Descent into Avernus since that’s the only 5e adventure featuring the River. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 16 at 12:58
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm interested in various interpretations but yeah I'm mostly asking in context of Descent into Avernus since that is the only source related to Styx I know of. \$\endgroup\$
    – geckon
    Feb 16 at 13:03

1 Answer 1


You could definitely control, shape, or destroy River Styx water.

The rules on the River Styx in Descent into Avernus consistently refer to the liquid as water, and while it lists many other effects, none of them prevent these spells from working:

Simply tasting or touching its waters can shatter a creature’s intellect and personality, as well as strip away its memories...

...A feebleminded creature can drink from the Styx and swim in its waters without suffering any additional deleterious effects...


Water taken from the River Styx loses its potency after 24 hours, becoming a harmless, foul-tasting liquid. However, arcanaloths, night hags, and other fell creatures might know rituals that can prolong the water’s potency, at your discretion.

You probably can't use create or destroy water to conjure it

You create up to 10 gallons of clean water within range in an open container.

I wouldn't consider water from the River Styx to be "clean water" and, regardless, the spell creates water whole cloth; it doesn't conjure water from a chosen location.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .