1
\$\begingroup\$

As a cleric I have two weapon fighting and I took the war caster feat. I was wondering if I could cast a spell as an action and then make a melee attack as a bonus action?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ To be clear: are you talking about the Fighting Style "two-weapon fighting" (typically an option for martial classes), or the regular two-weapon fighting (PHB 195) available to anyone? (Also, I'm not sure why War Caster would matter?) \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Commented Feb 20 at 1:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You could improve this question by clarifying why you believe war caster affects this interaction, preferably by citing the rules/features that you're focused on and highlighting which parts of them you want to know interact. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 20 at 1:56

1 Answer 1

12
\$\begingroup\$

Two Weapon Fighting requires the Attack action, but you took the Cast a Spell action.

Two Weapon Fighting states:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand.

You took the Cast a Spell action, but Two Weapon Fighting requires the Attack action. No feature of War Caster changes this, and it isn’t particularly clear what part of War Caster you think may change this.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ +1, beat me to it. In addition, I was going to point out that a bonus action can only be taken on your own turn, and even if enemy movement happened on your turn and provoked an Op Attack then, a reaction can't fulfill the requirements of using an action. I suspect they were looking at War Caster for the interaction provided with Booming Blade or Green-flame Blade as an Op Attack and thinking they could get a second swing from it. Might be worthwhile for them to explore an Eldritch Knight's War Magic feature, though. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 20 at 2:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ The part of war caster that states you have a weapon in one or both hands. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 20 at 3:01
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @DstrbdSuperman That part of War Caster has to do with a different rules situation restricting the casting of spells that have Somatic Components without a Material Component. As an example, the shield spell cannot normally be cast while wielding a staff with a mundane shield- in order to use the staff to cast the spell, the spell would require a material component with the Somatic, which it lacks. War Caster allows you to ignore the requirement of a free hand for such spells. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 20 at 3:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .