4
\$\begingroup\$

Are you as a divine soul sorcerer able to Twinned Spell Divination, and get into contact with multiple gods, and ask twice the amount of questions?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok I'm stupid. Thanks guys :) will accept an answer when I can. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 18 at 21:21

2 Answers 2

14
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot twin a spell with a range of self.

Twinned Spell states:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self

Divination has a range of self, so it is not eligible for use with Twinned Spell.

For reference, the Sage Advice Compendium has a handy guide on the author’s intent for Twinned Spell:

Can my sorcerer use Twinned Spell to affect a particular spell?

You can use Twinned Spell on a spell that …

  • targets only one creature
  • doesn’t have a range of self
  • is incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level

If you know this rule yet are still unsure whether a particular spell qualifies for Twinned Spell, consult with your DM, who has the final say. If the two of you are curious about our design intent, here is the list of things that disqualify a spell for us:

  • The spell has a range of self.
  • The spell can target an object.
  • The spell allows you to choose more than one creature to be affected by it, particularly at the level you’re casting the spell. Some spells increase their number of potential targets when you cast them at a higher level.
  • The spell can force more than one creature to make a saving throw before the spell’s duration expires.
  • The spell lets you make a roll of any kind that can affect more than one creature before the spell’s duration expires
\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wait, all spells that CAN target objects are disqualified? \$\endgroup\$
    – Hobbamok
    Commented Mar 19 at 8:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Hobbamok That is the intent of the designers, yes. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 19 at 11:08
6
\$\begingroup\$

No

Twinned Spell says:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell

Divination has a range of self. Therefore, it can not be used with Twinned Spell.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .